Video

Vine app Vine: a mobile service from Twitter lets you capture and share short looping videos to share in tweets. Like Tweets, the brevity of videos on Vine (6 seconds or less) inspires creativity. It is available as a free iOS app on the iPod Touch and iPhone and Twitter is working on bringing the app other platforms.

KEEK LOGOKeek is a free online social networking service that enables its users to upload 36 second video status updates, which are called “keeks”. Users can post keeks to the keek website using a webcam or via the Keek mobile apps for Android or iPhone. Users can also reply back with text or video comments, known as “keekbacks”, and share content to other major social media networks. There is also an embed option so users can embed their keeks into a blog or website.

YouTube is a video sharing site on which you can upload, share and view videos. You can choose to make the videos you upload public (anyone can search for and watch), unlisted (only people who know the link to the video can view it) or private (only you and up to 50 other users whom you choose to invite by email to view it). A guide to how you can adjust these permissions can be found here.

There are now dedicated groups for education – The Teachers Channel where teachers can share how they are using video in the classroom and EDU which is a collection of educational videos that may be of interest to anyone.

As of January 2012, YouTube has reached 4 billion views per day. Every second one hour of video is uploaded. See what this looks like at onehourpersecond


Vimeo is another video sharing site and restricts content uploads to only those created by the user.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s